COMPARE

InstantSam and Fed-Spend, side by side

What each costs and what each does, from each company's own website. Fed-Spend's column was read on 1 November 2026.

What each costs, and how you buy it

Prices as each company prints them on its own pricing page. Where a company prints only a monthly price, the yearly figure is worked out and says so.

Prices and how each product is bought
ProductHow you buy itLowest paid planOne person, a yearFive people, a yearFree plan or trial
InstantSamMonthly or yearly, bought online. Professional can also be bought monthly in the iPhone app.Essential, $24.99 a month billed yearly, or $29.99 monthly with a first subscription's first two months at $19.99. Professional, which has every feature in the table below that is not marked Premier, is $59.99 a month billed yearly or $69.99 monthly$299.88 on Essential billed yearly, or $719.88 on Professional. Monthly Professional: $799.88 in the first year, two months at $49.99 and ten at $69.99, then $839.88 a year$1,799.88 on Premier billed yearly, which covers up to 5 people. Monthly: $1,999.88 in the first year, two months at $124.99 and ten at $174.99, then $2,099.88 a yearFree plan with no time limit and no card, with 3 document reviews once, each with its compliance checklist
Fed-SpendMonthly or yearly, bought online; Enterprise through salesResearcher, $49 a month, or $39 a month billed yearly$588: Researcher, $49 a month for twelve monthsNot published; Professional Team is 3 seats at $399 a monthFree plan with 10 searches a month

Where they differ

Of the 31 rows below, the two are the same on 13. The others are listed here both ways. Not listedmeans not found on a company’s public pages on the date shown; it may exist behind a sign in, so ask.

Where InstantSam lists more

  • Federal grants (Grants.gov)

    InstantSam: Yes, Posted and forecast. Fed-Spend: Not listed, Says Grants.gov tracking is on its roadmap.

  • State and local bids

    InstantSam: Partly, Eight portals: TX, NYC, FL, NC, LA, MA, NJ, IL. Fed-Spend: Not listed, Says it is federal; no state or local data.

  • DLA DIBBS requests for quotation

    InstantSam: Yes. Fed-Spend: Not listed.

  • DoD SBIR and STTR topics

    InstantSam: Yes, DoD topics from DSIP. Fed-Spend: Not listed.

  • Forecasts before a solicitation posts

    InstantSam: Yes, The federal forecast tool and the City of Boston plan. Fed-Spend: Partly, Predicted RFP windows; full timelines on Professional.

  • AI reads the attachments, not only the notice

    InstantSam: Yes, Fifteen attachments, or up to 30 for 2 or 3 reviews; three reviews free. Fed-Spend: Partly, One uploaded, pasted or linked solicitation.

  • Compliance checklist or matrix

    InstantSam: Yes, Up to 40 requirements that decide acceptance, part of the notice's review; three reviews free. Fed-Spend: Partly, Full matrix on Professional; free teaser only.

  • Each requirement shown with its source sentence

    InstantSam: Yes, Each quote checked against the document. Fed-Spend: Unclear, Shows a section ref; source sentence not stated.

  • Questions answered from the documents

    InstantSam: Yes, Answers quote the documents. Fed-Spend: Not listed.

  • Tells you what an amendment changed

    InstantSam: Yes, Shown on the notice; alerts on every paid plan. Fed-Spend: Not listed.

  • Writes proposal text for you

    InstantSam: Yes, Five proposal drafts a month from your outline and your own record; Sources Sought letters on every paid plan. Fed-Spend: Partly, Proposal shell and exec summary; Professional.

  • Labor rates or price to win

    InstantSam: Yes, GSA CALC+ ceiling rates. Fed-Spend: Partly, Price-to-Win bands; full range on Professional.

  • Contract vehicles (IDIQs, GWACs, schedules)

    InstantSam: Yes. Fed-Spend: Not listed, Parent IDV is a data field; no vehicle tracker listed.

  • Reminder before a certification expires

    InstantSam: Yes, Emails at 60, 30, 14, 7 and 1 days. Fed-Spend: Not listed.

  • Calendar feed for Google or Outlook

    InstantSam: Yes. Fed-Spend: Partly, iCal feed on Professional and above.

  • Team seats and shared work

    InstantSam: Yes, Five seats. Fed-Spend: Partly, 3 seats on Professional Team; more on Enterprise.

  • Native iPhone and Android apps

    InstantSam: Yes, iPhone and Android. Fed-Spend: Not listed, No store links; site has a PWA manifest.

  • SSO or a FedRAMP environment

    InstantSam: Yes, SSO through Okta, Microsoft Entra or Google Workspace, and two-factor sign-in; not FedRAMP authorized. Fed-Spend: Not listed, Google or GitHub sign-in; SOC 2 in progress.

Where Fed-Spend lists more

No row.

Every row

Features of InstantSam and Fed-Spend
FeatureInstantSamFed-Spend
Where the work comes from
Federal contract notices (SAM.gov)
YesFreeSolicitations, presolicitations and sources sought
YesLive SAM.gov opportunities, refreshed hourly
Federal grants (Grants.gov)
YesFreePosted and forecast
Not listedSays Grants.gov tracking is on its roadmap
State and local bids
PartlyFreeEight portals: TX, NYC, FL, NC, LA, MA, NJ, IL
Not listedSays it is federal; no state or local data
DLA DIBBS requests for quotation
YesFree
Not listed
DoD SBIR and STTR topics
YesFreeDoD topics from DSIP
Not listed
Forecasts before a solicitation posts
YesProfessionalThe federal forecast tool and the City of Boston plan
PartlyPredicted RFP windows; full timelines on Professional
Reading the solicitation
AI reads the attachments, not only the notice
YesEssentialFifteen attachments, or up to 30 for 2 or 3 reviews; three reviews free
PartlyOne uploaded, pasted or linked solicitation
Compliance checklist or matrix
YesEssentialUp to 40 requirements that decide acceptance, part of the notice's review; three reviews free
PartlyFull matrix on Professional; free teaser only
Each requirement shown with its source sentence
YesEssentialEach quote checked against the document
UnclearShows a section ref; source sentence not stated
Questions answered from the documents
YesEssentialAnswers quote the documents
Not listed
Tells you what an amendment changed
YesFreeShown on the notice; alerts on every paid plan
Not listed
Writes proposal text for you
YesProfessionalFive proposal drafts a month from your outline and your own record; Sources Sought letters on every paid plan
PartlyProposal shell and exec summary; Professional
Deciding whether to bid
Alerts on new matching notices
YesEssentialEmail, and push on the phone
YesEmail alerts; Slack and webhooks also listed
Win likelihood or pWin
YesProfessionalA verdict with its reasons, no percentage
Yes0 to 100 score; 1 a day Free, 5 Researcher, 25 Pro
Competition: offers received, who won
YesProfessionalOffers received and repeat winners
YesOffer counts on expiring contracts
Market intelligence
YesProfessional
YesNAICS competition, buyer and subaward intelligence
Recompetes and expiring contracts
YesProfessionalContracts ending in 6 to 18 months
YesExpiring contracts, alerts 180 days out
Labor rates or price to win
YesEssentialGSA CALC+ ceiling rates
PartlyPrice-to-Win bands; full range on Professional
Contract vehicles (IDIQs, GWACs, schedules)
YesProfessional
Not listedParent IDV is a data field; no vehicle tracker listed
Reminder before a certification expires
YesEssentialEmails at 60, 30, 14, 7 and 1 days
Not listed
Running the bid and the team
Pursuit pipeline
YesFreeWith tasks, notes and a go or no-go record
Yes25 items on Researcher; unlimited on Professional
Calendar feed for Google or Outlook
YesEssential
PartlyiCal feed on Professional and above
Team seats and shared work
YesPremierFive seats
Partly3 seats on Professional Team; more on Enterprise
API or webhooks
YesPremierA read-only API and webhooks
YesREST API and MCP; 100 calls a day on Researcher
Native iPhone and Android apps
YesiPhone and Android
Not listedNo store links; site has a PWA manifest
Research by human analysts
No
Not listedSays it has no human analyst desk
SSO or a FedRAMP environment
YesPremierSSO through Okta, Microsoft Entra or Google Workspace, and two-factor sign-in; not FedRAMP authorized
Not listedGoogle or GitHub sign-in; SOC 2 in progress
Buying it
Free plan with no time limit
YesNo time limit, no card
Yes10 searches a month, no card, no time limit
Monthly billing, cancel any time
Yes
YesMonth to month; refund wording differs by page
Prices published on the website
Yes
YesEnterprise $999 on pricing page, Custom on home page
Buy without a sales call or demo
Yes
YesExcept Enterprise (Contact Sales button)

Where each cell came from

Fed-Spend’s own pages, read on 1 November 2026. InstantSam’s column comes from our own product, with the plan that includes each feature. Nothing here comes from review sites, roundups or price estimates.

All the products side by side and InstantSam’s own prices.

Your next opportunity starts here

Read your next solicitation tonight

3 free document reviews. No card, no call, and the price is already on the pricing page.

  1. 01

    Create your free account

    An email and a password. No card, and nothing to cancel.

  2. 02

    Open a solicitation in your trade

    Search open federal notices by NAICS code, agency or set-aside.

  3. 03

    Have the attachments read for you

    Scope, mandatory requirements, how it is evaluated and what would disqualify you, in plain words.

Start free

No card required. 3 document reviews free.

Take another look at the productSee what it costs