Closed October 31, 2026 at 5:00 PM EDT

Z2DA--652-24-101 Improve Electrical Distribution

VETERANS AFFAIRS, DEPARTMENT OF › VETERANS AFFAIRS, DEPARTMENT OF › 246-NETWORK CONTRACTING OFFICE 6 (36C246)

Solicitation
36C24627B0003
Responses due
October 31, 2026 at 5:00 PM EDT
NAICS
236220, Commercial and Institutional Building Construction
Set-aside
Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business (SDVOSB) Set-Aside (FAR 19.14)
Place of performance
Richmond, VA
Notice type
Presolicitation
Posted
October 26, 2026

InstantSam read 4,224 characters from 1 of this notice’s 1 attachment, and pulled out what it requires.

At a glance

What they want
This is a pre-solicitation announcement, not the solicitation itself. VA Network Contracting Office 6 (Hampton, VA) intends to issue an Invitation for Bid (IFB) for construction services on project 652-24-101 Improve Electrical Distribution.
Who may bid
Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business (SDVOSB) Set-Aside (FAR 19.14). NAICS 236220, Commercial and Institutional Building Construction, which sets the size standard.
When
  1. October 31, 2026 at 5:00 PM EDT: Responses were due
  2. November 10, 2026: Responses due

The response deadline is the one that cannot move. Whether a site visit is required is in the submission instructions below.

Check first
  1. SAM registration is required for award (36C24627B0003.docx): "Potential offerors are further advised that failure to register in the System for Award Management (SAM) database will render your firm ineligible for award."
  2. The contractor must supply all resources to complete the project (36C24627B0003.docx): "The contractor will provide all transportation, materials, parts, tools, specialized equipment, labor, supervision, and technical expertise to complete the project."
  3. Site preparation and demolition are included, per drawings and specifications (36C24627B0003.docx): "Contractors shall completely prepare sites for building operations, including demolition and removal of existing structures, and furnish labor and materials and perform work for 652-24-101 Improve Electrical Distribution as required by drawings and specifications."
Watch out
  1. Conflicting dates. The notice lists a response deadline of October 31, 2026 at 5:00 PM EDT. The document text lists a response date of 11-10-2026 at 5 PM Eastern. The IFB is expected on or about November 10, 2026. A deadline before the IFB is issued makes no sense, so confirm the real bid due date once the IFB posts.
  2. Pre-solicitation only. There is no scope detail, no drawings and no evaluation or bid instructions. Any bid decision now rests on limited information.
  3. No contact channel. The notice says no email, fax or phone inquiries will be answered, so questions must wait for the IFB.
What was read
It read 1 of the 1 attachment on this notice, 4,224 characters, in full. Document by document.

Nothing here is new: each line is taken from what the review says below, written from the documents, and a requirement that could stop a quote is listed first, in bold. A figure the review read from a scanned page says so. The compliance checklist in the app quotes the sentence behind each requirement, after checking it against the documents word for word (how a review is checked). Read a requirement in the solicitation before you rely on it.

From the solicitation

36C24627B0003.docx

The contractor will provide all transportation, materials, parts, tools, specialized equipment, labor, supervision, and technical expertise to complete the project.

What the review made of it: The contractor must supply all resources to complete the project (36C24627B0003.docx).

We checked this passage against the text of the document: it is there word for word, with only spacing and quotation marks evened out.

Scope of Work

This is a pre-solicitation announcement, not the solicitation itself. VA Network Contracting Office 6 (Hampton, VA) intends to issue an Invitation for Bid (IFB) for construction services on project 652-24-101 Improve Electrical Distribution. The work is at the Central Virginia VA Health Care System, 1201 Broad Rock Blvd, Richmond, VA 23249.

  • The contractor would furnish all transportation, materials, parts, tools, specialized equipment, labor, supervision and technical expertise.
  • The work includes site preparation, including demolition and removal of existing structures, as required by drawings and specifications.
  • The contract is planned as Firm Fixed Price, with a 365 calendar day period of performance after Notice to Proceed.
  • The estimated magnitude is between $2,000,000 and $5,000,000.
  • The documents give no technical scope, such as voltages, equipment, building areas or phasing. Those details are not specified in these documents. The drawings and specifications will come with the IFB.
  • The PSC is Z2DA. The NAICS code is 236220 (Commercial and Institutional Building Construction), the same as on the notice.

Key Requirements

  • The contractor must supply all resources to complete the project (36C24627B0003.docx): "The contractor will provide all transportation, materials, parts, tools, specialized equipment, labor, supervision, and technical expertise to complete the project."
  • Site preparation and demolition are included, per drawings and specifications (36C24627B0003.docx): "Contractors shall completely prepare sites for building operations, including demolition and removal of existing structures, and furnish labor and materials and perform work for 652-24-101 Improve Electrical Distribution as required by drawings and specifications."
  • Work must meet VA hospital construction and patient care standards (36C24627B0003.docx): "Contractors must comply with the current VA standards for hospital construction and patient care."
  • Performance is 365 calendar days after Notice to Proceed (36C24627B0003.docx): "Period of performance is 365 calendar days after Notice to Proceed at the Central VA Health Care system in Richmond, VA."
  • The award type is Firm Fixed Price, with award targeted within 120 days of bid receipt (36C24627B0003.docx): "The Government intends to award a Firm Fixed Price Contract within 120 days from bid receipt date."
  • The estimated project size is $2M to $5M (36C24627B0003.docx): "In accordance with Veterans Affairs Acquisition Regulations 836.204, the estimated magnitude of this project is between $2,000,000 and $5,000,000"
  • SAM registration is required for award (36C24627B0003.docx): "Potential offerors are further advised that failure to register in the System for Award Management (SAM) database will render your firm ineligible for award."
  • Offerors must acknowledge all amendments (36C24627B0003.docx): "Offerors are responsible for obtaining solicitation documents from SAM and acknowledging all amendments to any subsequent solicitation."
  • Offerors bear their own site visit preparation (36C24627B0003.docx): "It is the responsibility of the potential offerors to bring all necessary personnel, inclusive of subcontractors, tooling, and materials necessary for any site visit."
  • Bonding, insurance, wage determination and safety requirements are not specified in these documents.

Submission Instructions

  • This notice does not call for bids or quotes (36C24627B0003.docx): "This notice is for informational purposes only and is not a request for submission of quotes."
  • The IFB is expected on SAM.gov around November 10, 2026 (36C24627B0003.docx): "An Invitation for Bid (IFB) will be issued on https://sam.gov/ website under Contract Opportunities on or about November 10th, 2026."
  • Solicitation documents will be available online only (36C24627B0003.docx): "The solicitation will be available only via the Internet at the following address: https://sam.gov/."
  • Amendments will be posted on SAM, not emailed (36C24627B0003.docx): "Any amendments to the solicitation will not be emailed but will be posted at the SAM website."
  • No questions will be answered in response to this announcement (36C24627B0003.docx): "No email, fax, or telephone inquiries will be answered as a result of this announcement."
  • The site visit date and time will appear in the IFB (36C24627B0003.docx): "The date and time for site visit will be stated in the issued solicitation."
  • The government will not provide paper copies of solicitation materials, drawings or specifications. The bid submission method, bid opening location and time, and bid format are not specified in these documents.

Risks and Red Flags

  • Conflicting dates. The notice lists a response deadline of October 31, 2026 at 5:00 PM EDT. The document text lists a response date of 11-10-2026 at 5 PM Eastern. The IFB is expected on or about November 10, 2026. A deadline before the IFB is issued makes no sense, so confirm the real bid due date once the IFB posts.
  • Pre-solicitation only. There is no scope detail, no drawings and no evaluation or bid instructions. Any bid decision now rests on limited information.
  • No contact channel. The notice says no email, fax or phone inquiries will be answered, so questions must wait for the IFB.
  • Occupied hospital environment. The work is at a VA health care system and must meet VA hospital construction and patient care standards. The documents do not specify outage, infection control, phasing or security requirements, but electrical work in an active hospital may carry such constraints.
  • Demolition. Demolition and removal of existing structures are mentioned, but the extent is not specified.
  • Set-aside label mismatch. SDVOSBC on the notice versus SDVOSB in the text should be checked in the IFB.
  • Verification dependency. The firm must be verified, and the notice cites the SBA certification site, so confirm current status before bidding.
  • Single-site visit. "No other site visits will be conducted," so missing the scheduled visit may mean no access.
  • Archive timing. The notice says it archives 99 days after the response date.

What the review read

It read 1 of the 1 attachment on this notice, 4,224 characters, in full.

Document 1, 36C24627B0003.docxRead in full, 4,224 characters

Read in full means the whole text was taken out of the file. Whether that text was legible is for the review to say: a damaged scan or a broken conversion reads in full and says little.

We do not host these files. Download the originals from SAM.gov

Amendment history

InstantSam has not recorded an amendment to this notice. Check SAM.gov for the latest version before you bid.

There is more in the full review

How this solicitation is evaluated, who is eligible and whether it is set aside, and a bid or no-bid assessment. Plus the compliance checklist. On a paid plan, a check against your own NAICS codes and set-aside status, and an assistant that answers questions from the notice itself.

Evaluation Criteria · Eligibility and Set-Aside · Bid / No-Bid Considerations

Sign up free and read 3 solicitations

Browsing and searching federal opportunities is free forever.

New Commercial and Institutional Building Construction (NAICS 236220) notices, by email, weekly

One email a week with what was posted under this page, only in weeks when there is something new. No account. A confirmation link comes first, and every email carries a link to stop.

This is our reading of a public notice, produced automatically, and it is a research aid rather than advice. Always confirm requirements and deadlines against the official notice on SAM.gov before you bid. How this compares to SAM.gov.

Questions? Email Moses Ganiyu directly at talktomoses@instantsam.com. Built by a public-sector statistician with over a decade in government data.