Closed October 8, 2026 at 4:00 PM EDT

CO NP BLCA 10(1) South Rim Drive

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF › FEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION › 6982AF CENTRAL FEDERAL LANDS DIVISI

Solicitation
6982AF26Q000022
Responses due
October 8, 2026 at 4:00 PM EDT
NAICS
237310, Highway, Street, and Bridge Construction
Set-aside
Small Business Set Aside - Total
Place of performance
Montrose, CO
Notice type
Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
Posted
October 2, 2026

InstantSam read 7,764 characters from 4 of this notice’s 8 attachments, and pulled out what it requires.

At a glance

This review is incomplete.

It could not read Document 4. 3 more attachments were not opened. Read what it could not on the original notice before you rely on this summary. Open the notice on SAM.gov.

What they want
The documents provided are Questions and Answers (Q&A) issued during the advertisement period for solicitation 6982AF26Q000022, "CO NP BLCA 10(1) South Rim Drive Improvement." Based on the content of the Q&A, the project appears to involve road and safety improvements on South Rim Drive, including:
Who may bid
Small Business Set Aside - Total. NAICS 237310, Highway, Street, and Bridge Construction, which sets the size standard.
When
Closed October 8, 2026 at 4:00 PM EDT.
Check first
  1. Compliance with FP-24 Standard Specifications and project SCRs for credentialing of professional personnel (RLS, PE)
  2. Out-of-state professional licenses and certifications are acceptable provided they meet FP-24 and SCR credentialing, experience, and submittal requirements
  3. Acceptance of crushed aggregate work is pass/fail under FP-24 Section 703, not statistical (QL Pay) analysis; see Section 302.06 for acceptance method
Watch out
  1. Schedule risk: A question notes the project timeframe is "extremely tight," and the Government acknowledged it "would consider" a 2-week extension or weekend work, but the Q&A also states the completion date "has been moved" per Amendment A001, the details of which are not included in these documents. Bidders should obtain and review Amendment A001 directly.
  2. Geotechnical data gap: The Government confirmed there are no geotechnical reports available, despite guardrail work occurring in "solid rock and cliff faces" locations. This is a notable risk for contractors needing to price rock excavation, anchoring, or foundation work for guardrail terminal systems without subsurface data.
  3. Pay item ambiguity: There was initial confusion/clarification needed regarding which pay item (61701-4500) roadway excavation and ditch reconditioning are subsidiary to, indicated by a repeated question (Q5 and Q6) seeking confirmation. This suggests the original plans or specifications had ambiguous or unclear pay item references, which bidders should verify directly in the amended plans.
What was read
It read 4 of the 8 attachments on this notice, 7,764 characters, all 4 in full. 1 could not be read. 3 were not opened: this review was written on October 3, 2026, when a review opened the first 5 attachments. Reading the notice again opens up to 15. Document by document.

Nothing here is new: each line is taken from what the review says below, written from the documents, and a requirement that could stop a quote is listed first, in bold. A figure the review read from a scanned page says so. The compliance checklist in the app quotes the sentence behind each requirement, after checking it against the documents word for word (how a review is checked). Read a requirement in the solicitation before you rely on it.

Scope of Work

The documents provided are Questions and Answers (Q&A) issued during the advertisement period for solicitation 6982AF26Q000022, "CO NP BLCA 10(1) South Rim Drive Improvement." Based on the content of the Q&A, the project appears to involve road and safety improvements on South Rim Drive, including:

  • Guardrail/terminal system installation, specifically referenced as "Terminal System, Type MGS Tangent" (Pay Item 61701-4500)
  • Roadway excavation and ditch reconditioning (incidental to the guardrail pay item above)
  • Placement of crushed aggregate and roadway aggregate base (approximately 125 tons of aggregate base referenced in a question)
  • Survey work tied to a stated coordinate system (CO83-SF, NAD83 Colorado State Plane, South Zone, US Foot)
  • Material testing requiring a licensed Professional Engineer (PE)
  • Survey work requiring a Registered Land Surveyor (RLS)
  • Guardrail work in areas described as "solid rock and cliff faces"

Full scope details, drawings, and specifications are not included in these documents. The work is governed by the FP-24 Standard Specifications and project-specific SCRs (Special Contract Requirements), which are referenced but not reproduced here.

Key Requirements

  • Compliance with FP-24 Standard Specifications and project SCRs for credentialing of professional personnel (RLS, PE)
  • Out-of-state professional licenses and certifications are acceptable provided they meet FP-24 and SCR credentialing, experience, and submittal requirements
  • Acceptance of crushed aggregate work is pass/fail under FP-24 Section 703, not statistical (QL Pay) analysis; see Section 302.06 for acceptance method
  • Roadway aggregate base method of compaction is "Method 2"; grading designation to be determined per FP-24 Section 703.06
  • Government indicated it would consider allowing CDOT or local municipality aggregate base in lieu of a project-specific gradation, due to small quantity required
  • Roadway excavation and ditch reconditioning are subsidiary to Pay Item 61701-4500 (Terminal System, Type MGS Tangent) and have no separate pay item
  • Survey must use the CO83-SF, NAD83 Colorado State Plane, South Zone, US Foot coordinate system

Specific quantities, full pay item schedules, technical drawings, and detailed specifications are not specified in these documents beyond what is referenced above.

Submission Instructions

Not specified in these documents. The Q&A files do not contain instructions on proposal format, required forms, number of copies, electronic submission portals, or page limits.

Risks and Red Flags

  • Schedule risk: A question notes the project timeframe is "extremely tight," and the Government acknowledged it "would consider" a 2-week extension or weekend work, but the Q&A also states the completion date "has been moved" per Amendment A001, the details of which are not included in these documents. Bidders should obtain and review Amendment A001 directly.
  • Geotechnical data gap: The Government confirmed there are no geotechnical reports available, despite guardrail work occurring in "solid rock and cliff faces" locations. This is a notable risk for contractors needing to price rock excavation, anchoring, or foundation work for guardrail terminal systems without subsurface data.
  • Pay item ambiguity: There was initial confusion/clarification needed regarding which pay item (61701-4500) roadway excavation and ditch reconditioning are subsidiary to, indicated by a repeated question (Q5 and Q6) seeking confirmation. This suggests the original plans or specifications had ambiguous or unclear pay item references, which bidders should verify directly in the amended plans.
  • Aggregate sourcing risk: A bidder raised concern that local aggregate suppliers may be unwilling to adjust screens to produce a small quantity (125 tons) of project-specific aggregate base, indicating potential sourcing and cost risk. The Government's response points to FP-24 Section 703.06 but full resolution details are not in these documents.
  • Incomplete document set: These documents consist only of Q&A exchanges. The actual solicitation (schedule, SOW, drawings, SCRs, pricing schedule, submission instructions, and evaluation criteria) are not included here and must be independently obtained and reviewed before bidding.

What the review read

It read 4 of the 8 attachments on this notice, 7,764 characters, all 4 in full. 1 could not be read. 3 were not opened: this review was written on October 3, 2026, when a review opened the first 5 attachments. Reading the notice again opens up to 15.

Document 1Read in full, 12 characters, an empty or near-empty file
Document 2Read in full, 2,539 characters
Document 3Read in full, 3,175 characters
Document 4Could not be read
Document 5Read in full, 2,038 characters
Document 6Not opened
Document 7Not opened
Document 8Not opened

Read in full means the whole text was taken out of the file. Whether that text was legible is for the review to say: a damaged scan or a broken conversion reads in full and says little.

We do not host these files. Download the originals from SAM.gov

Amendment history

  • 1 new document attached.

    October 2, 2026 at 6:04 PM EDT

  • 1 new document attached.

    October 1, 2026 at 3:01 PM EDT

  • 2 new documents attached.

    September 29, 2026 at 2:05 PM EDT

  • 1 new document attached.

    September 25, 2026 at 1:03 PM EDT

There is more in the full review

How this solicitation is evaluated, who is eligible and whether it is set aside, and a bid or no-bid assessment. Plus the compliance checklist. On a paid plan, a check against your own NAICS codes and set-aside status, and an assistant that answers questions from the notice itself.

Eligibility and Set-Aside · Bid / No-Bid Considerations

Sign up free and read 3 solicitations

Browsing and searching federal opportunities is free forever.

New Highway, Street, and Bridge Construction (NAICS 237310) notices, by email, weekly

One email a week with what was posted under this page, only in weeks when there is something new. No account. A confirmation link comes first, and every email carries a link to stop.

This is our reading of a public notice, produced automatically, and it is a research aid rather than advice. Always confirm requirements and deadlines against the official notice on SAM.gov before you bid. How this compares to SAM.gov.

Questions? Email Moses Ganiyu directly at talktomoses@instantsam.com. Built by a public-sector statistician with over a decade in government data.