Closed September 25, 2026 at 6:00 PM EDT

Fire Alarm Upgrade

DEPT OF DEFENSE › DEPT OF THE ARMY › US ARMY CORPS OF ENGINEERS › SCO ALEXANDRIA › ENGINEER CENTER SUPPORT ACT HUMPHREYS › W4LD USA HECSA

Solicitation
W912HQ26S0075
Responses due
September 25, 2026 at 6:00 PM EDT
NAICS
238210, Electrical Contractors and Other Wiring Installation Contractors
Set-aside
Small Business Set Aside - Total
Place of performance
Alexandria, VA
Notice type
Solicitation
Posted
September 23, 2026

InstantSam read 72,919 characters from 5 of this notice’s 5 attachments, and pulled out what it requires.

At a glance

What they want
The requirement is a firm fixed price, single line item (CLIN 0001, "Fire Alarm System Upgrade," quantity 1 Job) construction project for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Humphreys Engineer Center (HEC).
Who may bid
Small Business Set Aside - Total. NAICS 238210, Electrical Contractors and Other Wiring Installation Contractors, which sets the size standard.
When
  1. September 21, 2026: Award expected
  2. September 23, 2026, 06:00 PM: Responses due
  3. September 25, 2026 at 6:00 PM EDT: Responses were due

The response deadline is the one that cannot move. Whether a site visit is required is in the submission instructions below.

Check first
  1. Period of performance: 24 weeks after Notice to Proceed, per Section F dates of 21 Sep 2026 to 21 Mar 2027.
  2. Hours of operation: 6:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday, excluding federal holidays; after-hours work requires 48-hour advance COR approval.
  3. Security requirements: background checks/investigations (NCIC-III, TSDB), E-Verify prescreening with a verified employee list due to the COR within 3 business days of award, notice of visit forms submitted 3 business days in advance, AT Level I training within 30 days of start and annually, OPSEC Level I training within 30 days and annually, and CAC/PIV credentialing procedures.
Watch out
  1. Date discrepancy: the opportunity header lists a due date of Sep 25, 2026, while the SF 1449 in Document 4 lists 23 Sep 2026, 06:00 PM. This should be clarified with the CO before submission.
  2. Solicitation number discrepancy: the opportunity is labeled W912HQ26S0075, but the SF 1449 and SOW reference solicitation/order number W912HQ26RA0180001. This should also be confirmed with the government.
  3. Limited government-furnished data: the government will not provide current floor plans, per-building device drawings, test reports, or device lists. Contractors are responsible for a full system audit as part of pre-installation work, which increases the burden of field verification and could affect pricing accuracy.
What was read
It read 5 of the 5 attachments on this notice, 72,919 characters, all 5 in full. Document by document.

Nothing here is new: each line is taken from what the review says below, written from the documents, and a requirement that could stop a quote is listed first, in bold. A figure the review read from a scanned page says so. The compliance checklist in the app quotes the sentence behind each requirement, after checking it against the documents word for word (how a review is checked). Read a requirement in the solicitation before you rely on it.

Scope of Work

The requirement is a firm fixed price, single line item (CLIN 0001, "Fire Alarm System Upgrade," quantity 1 Job) construction project for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Humphreys Engineer Center (HEC).

Key scope elements per the Statement of Work (Section C):

  • Remove and replace existing fire alarm systems in Buildings 2582, 2584, 2585, 2590, and 2591 at 7701 Telegraph Road, Alexandria, VA (Q&A also references Building 2593 as the main building for connectivity).
  • Install a new non-proprietary, addressable fire alarm and emergency voice/alarm communication system (EVACS), integrated with existing infrastructure.
  • Compliance required with NFPA 72, NFPA 70, UFC 3-600-01, and DoD/Army Mass Notification System (MNS) requirements.
  • Full scope includes labor, materials, supervision, engineering, programming, testing, and commissioning.
  • Detailed sub-scopes: submittals (drawings, riser diagrams, calculations, phasing/outage plans, as-builts, O&M manuals, QC plan); phased zone-by-zone installation with dual coverage and fire watch during outages; pre-installation system audit; installation of FACP, power/backup systems, initiating devices, notification appliances, monitoring/control devices, annunciation systems, and MNS components; programming and integration with the existing UL-listed sprinkler monitoring station; 100% device testing per NFPA 72 Chapter 14 and AHJ acceptance testing; decommissioning, disposal, and restoration of disturbed areas; and a minimum 1-year warranty.
  • Acceptance criteria include greater than 99% uptime, no unplanned outages, passed inspections, NFPA 72 voice intelligibility compliance, training sessions, and 24-hour system restore capability after failure.

Key Requirements

  • Period of performance: 24 weeks after Notice to Proceed, per Section F dates of 21 Sep 2026 to 21 Mar 2027.
  • Hours of operation: 6:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday, excluding federal holidays; after-hours work requires 48-hour advance COR approval.
  • Security requirements: background checks/investigations (NCIC-III, TSDB), E-Verify prescreening with a verified employee list due to the COR within 3 business days of award, notice of visit forms submitted 3 business days in advance, AT Level I training within 30 days of start and annually, OPSEC Level I training within 30 days and annually, and CAC/PIV credentialing procedures.
  • Contractor personnel identification list due to the COR within 1 day of award.
  • Accident Prevention Plan due in writing within 10 working days of notice of award, per EM 385-1-1 and 29 CFR 1910/1926.
  • Wage requirements: Construction Wage Rate Requirements (Davis-Bacon, 52.222-6) and related labor standards clauses apply.
  • Bonding: Performance and Payment Bonds-Construction (52.228-15) and Additional Bond Security (52.228-2) are included, indicating bonding is required.
  • Insurance: Work on a Government Installation (52.228-5) applies.
  • Limitations on Subcontracting (52.219-14) applies: for general construction, no more than 85% of contract value (excluding materials) may go to non-similarly-situated subcontractors; for special trade construction, the limit is 75%.
  • Existing conduit does not need to be replaced (per Q&A).
  • The government will provide existing fire alarm drawings, but will not provide current floor plans, device lists, per-building drawings, or test reports (per Q&A).

Submission Instructions

Specific proposal submission instructions (format, page limits, number of copies, technical volumes) are not specified in these documents. The SF 1449 identifies:

  • Offer due date: 23 Sep 2026, 06:00 PM (local time), per the SF 1449 in Document 4.
  • Note: the opportunity header lists a response deadline of Sep 25, 2026 22:00 UTC. There is a discrepancy between the two dates in the provided materials; offerors should confirm the current deadline directly with the contracting officer.
  • Point of contact for solicitation information: Richard Klein, (703) 428-3639, richard.c.klein@usace.army.mil.
  • Method of solicitation: the SF 1449 marks this as a Request for Proposal (RFP) format, though Document 2 states "this is not sealed bidding" and that the government will keep a record of attendees at any site visit or meeting rather than a bidders' list.
  • Award will be announced via SAM.gov.

Detailed instructions for proposal volumes, page limits, or specific submission portal are not specified in these documents.

Risks and Red Flags

  • Date discrepancy: the opportunity header lists a due date of Sep 25, 2026, while the SF 1449 in Document 4 lists 23 Sep 2026, 06:00 PM. This should be clarified with the CO before submission.
  • Solicitation number discrepancy: the opportunity is labeled W912HQ26S0075, but the SF 1449 and SOW reference solicitation/order number W912HQ26RA0180001. This should also be confirmed with the government.
  • Limited government-furnished data: the government will not provide current floor plans, per-building device drawings, test reports, or device lists. Contractors are responsible for a full system audit as part of pre-installation work, which increases the burden of field verification and could affect pricing accuracy.
  • Communication/fiber wiring scope between the 5 buildings and the main building (2593) is referenced in the Q&A but the answer to whether the contractor is responsible for this runs incomplete in the provided text (Question 4 has no listed answer), and Question 6 refers to "see attached" for existing pathways, meaning a drawing or exhibit not included in this text bundle. This is a gap that should be resolved before bidding.
  • Bonding and insurance requirements (performance/payment bonds, installation work insurance) add cost and administrative burden typical of a construction contract.
  • Extensive personnel security, background investigation, and CAC-related processes may extend onboarding timelines and increase administrative overhead, especially for subcontractor personnel.
  • Phased, occupied-building work with dual system coverage, temporary fire watch, and off-hours cutovers increases scheduling complexity and potential for schedule slippage tied to equipment lead times, which the SOW itself flags as a factor affecting the 24-week performance period.
  • Multiple FAR/DFARS deviation clauses (2026-O0038, 2026-O0025, 2026-O0040) are referenced; contractors should review the specific deviation language since it may alter standard clause terms.

What the review read

It read 5 of the 5 attachments on this notice, 72,919 characters, all 5 in full.

Document 1Read in full, 28 characters, an empty or near-empty file
Document 2Read in full, 332 characters
Document 3Read in full, 698 characters
Document 4Read in full, 71,849 characters
Document 5Read in full, 12 characters, an empty or near-empty file

Read in full means the whole text was taken out of the file. Whether that text was legible is for the review to say: a damaged scan or a broken conversion reads in full and says little.

We do not host these files. Download the originals from SAM.gov

Amendment history

  • Deadline moved to September 25, 2026 at 6:00 PM EDT.

    September 23, 2026 at 2:03 PM EDT

  • 1 new document attached.

    September 22, 2026 at 9:01 PM EDT

  • 1 new document attached.

    September 22, 2026 at 4:03 PM EDT

  • 2 new documents attached.

    September 22, 2026 at 12:04 PM EDT

  • Attachments changed.

    September 14, 2026 at 8:04 PM EDT

There is more in the full review

How this solicitation is evaluated, who is eligible and whether it is set aside, and a bid or no-bid assessment. Plus the compliance checklist. On a paid plan, a check against your own NAICS codes and set-aside status, and an assistant that answers questions from the notice itself.

Eligibility and Set-Aside · Bid / No-Bid Considerations

Sign up free and read 3 solicitations

Browsing and searching federal opportunities is free forever.

New Electrical Contractors and Other Wiring Installation Contractors (NAICS 238210) notices, by email, weekly

One email a week with what was posted under this page, only in weeks when there is something new. No account. A confirmation link comes first, and every email carries a link to stop.

This is our reading of a public notice, produced automatically, and it is a research aid rather than advice. Always confirm requirements and deadlines against the official notice on SAM.gov before you bid. How this compares to SAM.gov.

Questions? Email Moses Ganiyu directly at talktomoses@instantsam.com. Built by a public-sector statistician with over a decade in government data.